Armoiries

DIOCÈSE DE

HEARST – MOOSONEE

ARMOIRIES

 

SIGNIFICATION

L’écusson est composé de symboles exprimants la réalité du diocèse, les cultures historiques, géographiques, linguistiques et ethniques de ce territoire qui est une circonscription ecclésiastique, qui doit son existence en fonction de la présence de l’évêque diocésain qui a la mission d’enseigner, de sanctifier et de gouverner, représentée pa la mitre, et les deux fanons, symbolisant l’Ancien et le Nouveau Testaments. 

Le blanc exprime la joie de la résurrection.

Sur le haut de la mitre une croix dorée avec cinq pierres rouges représentant les cinq plais de Notre-Seigneur, Jésus-Christ, symbole du salut.

Le quart de haut gauche, une rose de gueule, avec cinq pointes vertes, bouton au centre sur fond argent symbole de la transparence, de la justice et de la vérité, exprimant la culture anglaise, connue aussi sous la Tudor Rose, appelée aussi la Rose de l’Union.

Le quart de haut droit, la fleur de lys symbole de la culture française sur un fond vert, symbole de l’espoir, de la paix et des forêts qui nous entourent.

Le quart gauche au bas, la plume symbolise les peuples autochtones du diocèse, sur un fond azur symbole des valeurs du monde et l’ascension de l’âme vers Dieu et des vertus célestes, et la couleur du ciel bleu du grand Nord et des eaux de la Baie James.

Le quart droit au bas, la bible, sur un fond doré, symbole de la divinité.

Au bas une bannière avec les paroles même de Jésus à ses disciples: UT UNUM SINT, et qui se traduit comme suivant  « qu’ils soient un« . C’est la dvise choisie par le diocèse.

Langue :

Coat of Arms

HEARST – MOOSONEE DIOCESE

COAT OF ARMS

 

INTERPRETATION

The Shield is composed of symbols expressing the reality of the diocese, the historic, geographic, linguistic and ethnic cultures of this territory which is an ecclesiastical territory, and which exists due according to the presence of the Diocesan Bishop who has the mission of teaching, sanctifying and governing, represented by the Miter, and Two Lappets, symbolizing the Old and the New Testament. The white expresses the joy of the resurrection. 

On the top of the miter a Golden Cross with five red stones representing the Five Wounds of Our Lord, Jesus Christ, symbol of salvation.

The top quarter left, a rose of Gules, with five green tips, button in the center on a silver background symbol of transparency, justice and truth, expressing English culture, also known as the Tudor Rose, sometimes called the Union Rose.

The top right quarter, the fleur de Lys symbol of French culture on a green background, symbol of hope, peace and the forests that surround us.

The left quarter at the bottom, the Feather symbolizes the Aboriginal peoples of the diocese, on a blue background symbol of the values of the world and the ascension of the soul towards God and celestial virtues, and the color of the blue sky of the Far North and the waters of James Bay.

The right quarter at the bottom, the Bible, on a golden background, symbol of divinity.

At the bottom a banner with the words of Jesus to his disciples: “Ut unum Sint” which translates to “that they may be one”.  This is a Motto that the diocese has chosen. 

 

Language: