NOUVELLES ET INFORMATION

COVID-19 PANDEMIC

COMMUNIQUÉS:

1 avril 2021

Toutes les unités de santé de la province de l’Ontario passent à « Confinement » pour les restrictions liées à COVID-19, à partir de 0h01 le samedi 3 avril. Cette période durera au moins 28 jours.

Les services religieux auront une limite réduite de 15% de la capacité (au lieu de 30%). Les réunions et autres rassemblements en personne ne sont pas permises à l’interieur.

Des informations plus détaillées sont fournies dans le communiqué de presse du 1er avril 2021 du bureau du premier ministre de l’Ontario M. Doug Ford


22 mars, 2021

Effectif aujourd’hui le 22 mars, 2021 le district « Porcupine Health Unit » est maintenant dans la zone « JAUNE ». Votre bureau de santé publique peut avoir des restrictions supplémentaires. Renseignez-vous sur son site Web.


13 mars 2021:

COVID-19 : Mesures et restrictions régionales en matière de santé publique:

Découvrez les mesures, les restrictions et les conseils les plus récents en matière de santé publique dans votre région .

Mesures liées à la par région:

À partir du 8 mars, toutes les régions seront auront été réintégrées dans le cadre d’intervention pour la .

Vérifiez à quelle zone se situe votre région. Les régions sont basées sur les limites des unités de santé publique. Trouvez votre unité de santé publique.

En plus des mesures provinciales en matière de santé figurant sur cette page, il pourrait y avoir des restrictions ou exigences locales additionnelles. Vous trouverez ces restrictions sur le site Web de votre bureau de santé publique local, dont le lien figure sur la carte et dans le tableau.


16 février 2021:

D’après les nouvelles, à partir du 16 février, notre diocèse qui est en partie dans :

  1. a) la zone du Bureau de santé Porcupine est une zone Orange-Restreindre et
  2. b) la zone du Bureau de santé du district de Thunder Bay est une zone Rouge-Contrôler.

Pour les deux zones, on permet 30% de capacité pour nos célébrations, mariages et funérailles. Des informations plus détaillées sont fournies dans le document suivant:

Églises et paroisses en Ontario – 16 février 2021 – Tableau des cinq niveaux


8 février 2021

Message de Terrance Prendergast, Administrateur Apostolique du diocèse de Hearst-Moosonee

Selon les dernières directives du gouvernement de l’Ontario, les ordres de « rester à la maison » et les restrictions sanitaires resteront en vigueur dans nos districts sanitaires jusqu’au Mardi Gras, le 16 février.  Nous devrons attendre la semaine prochaine pour savoir quelle forme prendront notre Mercredi des Cendres et les autres célébrations du Carême.

Merci de continuer à respecter toutes les précautions pour assurer la sécurité des personnes.


14 janvier 2021

DEUXIÈME DÉCLARATION D’URGENCE POUR L’ONTARIO –

En réponse à l’augmentation alarmante des cas de COVID-19covid 19, une déclaration d’urgence a été faite le 12 janvier 2021 pour l’ensemble de l’Ontario. À compter du 14 janvier 2021 à 0 h 01, une «ordonnance de maintien à la maison» est en vigueur pour tout l’Ontario. Cette commande est en vigueur pendant 28 jours et peut être prolongée si nécessaire.

Cela signifie que vous devez demeurer à la maison. Vous devez limiter les déplacements hors de votre domicile à des fins essentielles, par exemple :

  • acheter de la nourriture, des boissons ou des médicaments
  • aller à des rendez-vous médicaux
  • soutenir des membres vulnérables de la collectivité
  • obtenir des services de garde d’enfants
  • fréquenter une école ou un établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire;
  • obtenir des services gouvernementaux;
  • vous rendre à une banque;
  • faire de l’exercice ou promener des animaux de compagnie
  • aller travailler si vous ne pouvez le faire à distance

Les entreprises doivent s’assurer que tous leurs employés travaillent de la maison s’ils le peuvent. Ne voyagez pas à l’extérieur de votre région ou de la province, sauf si cela est absolument nécessaire.

Des informations détaillées supplémentaires relatives à cette «Deuxième déclaration d’urgence» se trouvent sur le site Web de la province d’Ontario.

Notez que les particuliers et / ou entreprises qui ne respectent pas les ordres peuvent être condamnés à une amende. Les amendes maximales peuvent aller jusqu’à 100 000 $ pour les particuliers et 10 millions de dollars pour une société. Le non-respect des règles pourrait également entraîner des poursuites ou même un an de prison.


8 janvier 2020

Le jeudi 7 janvier 2021, le gouvernement de l’Ontario a prolongé la fermeture dans le Nord de l’Ontario de 14 jours supplémentaires jusqu’au samedi 23 janvier 2021, s’alignant sur la période d’arrêt dans le Sud de l’Ontario.

Pour plus d’information, veuillez consulter l’article de Ici-Radio-Canada du 7 janvier 2021.


22 décembre 2020

Voici l’Inter-Par du diocèse Hearst-Moosonee du 27 décembre. C’est un message important de Mgr Prendergast, S. J., Administrateur apostolique diocésain, concernant les mesures provinciales et nos propres arrangements personnels en cette période d’isolement.

Inter-Par – 27 décembre, 2020


21 décembre 2020

Aujourd’hui, le premier ministre Doug Ford a annoncé que tout l’Ontario passera à un verrouillage le lendemain de Noël dans le but de freiner l’augmentation du nombre de cas de COVID-19 et d’éviter que les hôpitaux et leurs unités de soins intensifs ne soient inondés en janvier.

Le verrouillage commencera à 0 h 01 le 26 décembre et restera en place jusqu’au 23 janvier 2021 au moins dans les 27 bureaux de santé publique du sud de l’Ontario, selon le gouvernement.

Dans le nord de l’Ontario, où le nombre de cas quotidiens a été considérablement plus faible, le verrouillage expirera le 9 janvier 2021.

Veuillez consulter l’article suivant de CBC News pour plus d’informations:

Premier Ministre Doug Ford annonce entrée au confinement


16 juillet 2020

À compter de jeudi 23 juillet 2020, dans toutes les communautés de la région du Bureau de santé Porcupine, il sera obligatoire de porter un couvre-visage dans les espaces publics intérieurs.  Par contre il ne faut pas oublier que l’utilisation d’un couvre-visage ne remplace pas la nécessité des autres mesures de santé publique telles que l’éloignement physique, l’hygiène fréquente des mains et le maintien à la maison en cas de malaise.

S.V.P., voir ci-joint les instructions du Bureau de santé Porcupine.

Commande de masque_Juillet 2020

Pour de plus amples informations S.V.P., visiter le lien ici-bas ou prendre contact avec le bureau de santé.

https://www.porcupinehu.on.ca/en/your-health/infectious-diseases/novel-coronavirus/covid-masks/


18 juin 2020

Veuillez noter l’affiche suivante «Règles de santé et de sécurité à protéger contre Covid-19 à l’entrée et dans l’église», fournie par l’Église catholique de Montréal. (Cliquez sur l’affiche pour agrandir)


17 juin 2020

Ce qui suit fait suite à l’actualité du 13 juin 2020 concernant «l’Ontario assouplit les restrictions sur les mariages et les cérémonies funéraires».

Voir ci-dessous le document en français du Ministère de la Santé au sujet des restrictions concernant les mariages et les cérémonies funèbres. Ce document peut porter à la confusion, mais la différence est entre les mots « Cérémonies » et « Réceptions ».

Pour une cérémonie de mariage ou funèbres tenues  à l’intérieur : un maximum de 30% de la capacité de votre église.

Pour une cérémonie de mariage ou funèbres tenues  à l’extérieur : un maximum de  50 personnes.

Pour toutes réceptions de mariage ou funèbres tenues à l’extérieur ou à l’intérieur le nombre est de 10 personnes.

Restrictions assouplit pour cérémonies et réceptions pour mariage et funèbres_13 juin 2020


13 juin 2020

L’Ontario assouplit les restrictions concernant les mariages et les cérémonies funèbres.

Consultez le communiqué de « News Ontario » etde l’information supplémentaire sur la réouverture de l’étape 2 en Ontario, sur le lien suivant:

13 juin 2020 – Restrictions assouplit concernant mariages et cérémonies funèbres

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario accorde une plus grande souplesse quant au nombre de participants à des cérémonies de mariage ou funèbres tenues à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur, reconnaissant l’importance de se retrouver avec ses proches lors des moments où cela compte le plus.

En fonction des tendances positives de santé publique, le gouvernement augmente le nombre de personnes pouvant participer à une cérémonie de mariage ou à une cérémonie funèbre se déroulant à l’intérieur à un maximum de 30 pour cent de la capacité du lieu de la cérémonie.

Les cérémonies de mariage et funèbres se déroulant à l’extérieur seront limitées à 50 participants. Lors des cérémonies intérieures comme extérieures, les participants doivent respecter les conseils pertinents de santé et de sécurité, y compris exercer la distanciation physique avec les personnes qui ne font pas partie de leur ménage ou de leur cercle social établi de 10 personnes.

« Grâce aux récents progrès pour freiner la propagation de la COVID-19, nous pouvons assouplir les restrictions pour ces cérémonies spéciales, a déclaré Christine Elliott, vice-première ministre et ministre de la Santé. Nous avons adopté des mesures délibérées pour augmenter les tests de dépistage et notre capacité à suivre et à contenir ce virus. Alors que nous relâchons ces mesures, j’incite fortement tout un chacun à rester consciencieux et prudent puisque nous sommes tous toujours à risque. »

Les changements sont entrés en vigueur le vendredi 12 juin à 0 h 1. Le nombre maximum de personnes pouvant participer aux réceptions de mariage ou funèbres tenues à l’intérieur ou à l’extérieur demeure fixé à 10 personnes. Au fil de l’évolution de l’éclosion de la COVID-19 en Ontario, d’autres directives sur les restrictions concernant la capacité pour les mariages et les funérailles seront éventuellement données.


9 Juin 2020

Nous avons de bonnes nouvelles à partager avec vous tous aujourd’hui !!

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario a annoncé lundi une approche régionale à l’étape 2 de la phase 2 de la réouverture de la province au milieu de la pandémie de coronavirus.

À partir de vendredi, le 12 juin,  à 12 h 01, les résidents de l’Ontario seront permit de se réunir en groupes de 10 – par rapport aux cinq précédents. Les lieux de culte seront également autorisés à rouvrir, mais avec des mesures de distance physiques en place et n’autorisant pas plus de 30% de la capacité.

Certaines unités de santé publique verront également la réouverture de services tels que les coiffeurs et les barbiers, les terrasses des restaurants et d’autres espaces extérieurs.

Des informations plus détaillées concernant les «opérations de l’église pendant les situations d’urgence pandémique» sont disponibles sur le document suivant. La version français doit suivre prochainement.

Copie approuvé – ACBO WORSHIPSAFE (Français) _Version 3 revisé _juin 2020

Veuillez consulter le lien ci-dessous pour la ressource des Services de sécurité et de prévention au travail intitulée Guide sur la santé et la sécurité des lieux de culte pendant COVID-19.

Guidance on Health and Safety for Places of Worship during Covid-19 (anglais)

Ce document comprend des liens vers des ressources, des conseils et des pratiques exemplaires pour aider les employeurs et les travailleurs à prévenir la propagation de COVID-19 et à travailler ensemble pour rouvrir la province.

Veuillez noter qu’une grande partie de ce qui est couvert dans cette ressource se trouve également dans le manuel Worshipsafe.


27 mai 2020:

Comme vous le savez déjà d’après les nouvelles du mercredi 27 mai, le gouvernement de l’Ontario a prolongé les mesures d’urgence jusqu’au 9 juin, ce qui signifie que les églises ne sont pas sur le point de rouvrir. Nous vous informerons davantage une fois que nous entendrons le contraire.

L’état d’urgence déclaré par le gouvernement de l’Ontario interdisant le rassemblement de plus de 5 personnes nous invite à faire notre part pour lutter contre la propagation du virus Covid-19.

Toutes les messes restent alors annulées jusqu’à ce que nous recevions l’autorisation du gouvernement de l’Ontario.


19 mars 2020:

Comme vous le savez tout change très vite et de nouvelles directives plus claires du Bureau de Santé Porcupine ont été émises le 17 mars 2020. Notre diocèse suit donc ces nouvelles directives au sujet des messes et de tout rassemblement. À compter aujourd’hui, TOUTES MESSES ET ACTIVITÉS ONT ÉTÉ ANNULÉS JUSQU’À NOUVEL AVIS.

Pour votre information, veuillez consulter les directives / communiqué les plus récents (17 mars 2020)  du Bureau de santé Porcupine:

Bureau de Santé Porcupine- Mise à jour du 17 mars 2020  sur la Covid-19


17 mars 2020:

  • 17 mars 2020 – Communiqué de Mgr R. Bourgon – Mesures préventives pour enrayer la propagation du virus Covid 19
  • 13 mars 2020 – Déclaration de CCCB (Conférence des évêques catholiques du Canada) sur le  Coronavirus (COVID-19 )Un moment unique et spécial pour la prière, l’espérance et les soinsAvec tous les Canadiens et les Canadiennes, les évêques catholiques du Canada suivent avec une profonde préoccupation les développements actuels au Canada et dans le monde concernant la propagation mondiale rapide du coronavirus (COVID-19) qui peut dans certains cas être la cause de maladies graves, voire de décès.La pandémie se propage maintenant également à travers le Canada. Ce nouveau virus est bien sûr une source d’anxiété et de peur pour plusieurs. Des renseignements pratiques sur la façon de contrer le virus et d’atténuer sa propagation sont disponibles auprès des responsables locaux de la santé publique, de même que des gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux, et doivent être suivis. Les fidèles catholiques sont invités à consulter le site web de leur éparchie ou diocèse local pour connaître les mesures préventives à suivre dans le cadre de la pastorale et des liturgies. Le souci de chaque personne et du bien commun doit toujours primer.En tant que catholiques, nous voyons dans chaque maladie un rappel de notre propre mortalité, ainsi qu’un appel à participer au ministère de guérison du Christ. Devant la souffrance et la maladie, les chrétiennes et chrétiens doivent être des témoins crédibles de l’amour, de la providence et de la puissance durables du Seigneur parmi nous. Sa miséricorde et ses soins sont toujours présents et disponibles.Nous célébrerons bientôt Pâques – le triomphe du Christ sur la mort en tant que Seigneur de la vie et source d’espérance éternelle. La propagation du virus COVID-19 est un moment pour les catholiques d’offrir des prières spéciales d’intercession pour la guérison des personnes infectées, pour la protection des personnes âgées et infirmes qui sont les plus à risque, pour la prévention de la propagation de la maladie, et pour le courage et la force des prestataires de soins qui s’occupent des malades, de leurs familles et de ceux et celles qui en ont le plus besoin.Conformément à l’enseignement de Notre-Seigneur et dans le cadre de la tradition sacrée du Carême, il est approprié, lorsque cela est possible, de renforcer notre prière par le jeûne, par d’autres expressions de charité chrétienne ou d’oeuvres de miséricorde spirituelle et corporelle.Nous confions notre pays et en particulier les personnes affectées, de même que leurs proches et leurs aidants ou aidantes, à l’intercession puissante et maternelle de la Vierge Marie, Mère du Christ et la nôtre.


    Allez voir les dernières informations sur le Corona virus

    En matière de santé, tout le monde veut des informations fiables et à jour. 

    Consultez les dernières nouvelles de www.canada.ca pour obtenir des réponses aux questions que vous pourriez avoir sur le virus COVID-19.

Langue:

COVID-19 PANDEMIC NEWS AND INFORMATION

 

LATEST NEWS:

June 7, 2021

On June 7, 2021, the Province of Ontario gave an update on the Roadmap to reopen following the Stay at home order.

Step 1 will begin on Friday, June 11, 2021. They also announced some changes to the Roadmap that will allow more attendance at religious services. Please refer to the information below.

IMPORTANT: Unfortunately, the Porcupine Health Unit region will not move to Phase 1 as planned due to the rise in Covid cases recorded in the region. 

Please read the following important news release. Also included is the link in connection with this release regarding the Porcupine Health Unit region.

2021 06 7 Covid 19 Update on Roadmap to reopen

Breaking News : Porcupine Health Unit area NOT Reopening


May 20, 2021

With the new, more contagious variants continuing to pose significant risks, the Ontario government, has extended the Stay-at-Home Order (O. Reg. 265/21) until at least June 2, 2021. All public health and workplace safety measures under the provincewide emergency brake will also remain in effect.

NEWS RELEASE

Ontario Releases Three-Step Roadmap to Safely Reopen the Province

TORONTO — The Ontario government, in consultation with the Chief Medical Officer of Health, has released its Roadmap to Reopen, a three-step plan to safely and cautiously reopen the province and gradually lift public health measures based on the provincewide vaccination rate and improvements in key public health and health care indicators. In response to recent improvements to these indicators, Ontario will allow more outdoor recreational amenities to reopen, with restrictions in place, effective May 22, 2021 at 12:01 a.m.

For detailed  information on the “Roadmap to Reopen” refer to the following article from the Office Of the Premier. 

https://news.ontario.ca/en/backgrounder/1000159/roadmap-to-reopen


May 16, 2021

Premier Ford has announced that the restrictions and Stay-At-Home Order have been extended again. Please read the following important Newsletter. 

May 17, 2021 – Restrictions and Stay-At-Home Order Extended


April 16, 2021

Re: Province of Ontario – Enhanced Restrictions for Stay-at-home Order and extension

On April 16, 2021 the Province of Ontario announced it is enhancing Provincial Emergency and Stay-at- home order. It further restricts a number of activities including attendance at religious services. Also the Stay-at-home order has been extended an additional two weeks until May 20, 2021.

For more information regarding the “new” restrictions, please refer to the press release from Deacon Jean Beausoleil, Chancellor of the Hearst-Moosonee diocese:

April 16, 2021 – Covid-19 Extention and Enhanced restrictions – Ontario

 


April 1, 2021

All health units in the Province of Ontario move to Shut-down for COVID-19 restrictions starting at 12:01am on Saturday April 3. It will last at least 28 days.

Religious services will have a reduced limit of 15% of capacity (down from 30%). Meetings and other in-person gatherings are not allowed indoors.

More detailed information is provided in the .

April 1, 2021 News Release from the Office of Ontario Premier Doug Ford.


March 22, 2021

Effective March 22, 2021 the Porcupine Health Unit district is now in the “YELLOW” zone. Your Public Health Unit may have additional restrictions. Find out on their website.


March 13, 2021:

COVID-19 public health measures and advice:

Find out about the latest public health measures, advice and restrictions in your area. Stay home, stay safe, save lives.

measures by region:

As of March 8, all regions will be back in the response framework.

Check which zone your region is in. Regions are based on public health unit boundaries. Find your public health unit.

Besides the provincial health measures listed, there may also be additional local restrictions or requirements. Find these restrictions on your local municipality or public health unit’s website, which is linked from the map and the table.


February 16, 2021

From news sources, beginning Tuesday, February 16, the Hearst-Moosonee Diocese is divided into the following colour categories:

  1. a) the Porcupine Health Unit is assigned the Orange (or “Restrict”) status;
  2. b) the Thunder Bay Health Unit is assigned the Red (or “Control”) status.

For these two zone, one is permitted up to 30% capacity for religious celebrations, marriages and funerals. More detailed information is provided in the following document:

Church and Parish Facilities in Ontario – February 16, 2021 – Chart of five levels


February 8, 2021

Message from Terrence Prendergast, Apostolic Administrator, Hearst -Moosonee Diocese

According to the latest Government of Ontario directives, the “stay home” orders and sanitary restrictions will remain in effect in our health districts until Shrove Tuesday, February 16.  We will need to wait until next week to learn what form our Ash Wednesday and other Lenten observances will take.

Thank you for continuing to adhere to all the precautions for keeping people safe.


January 14, 2021

SECOND DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY FOR ONTARIO –

In response to the alarming rise of covid 19 cases, a declaration of emergency was made on January 12, 2021 for all of Ontario. As of January 14, 2021 at 12:01 a.m., a “stay at home order” is in effect for all of Ontario. This order is in effect for 28 days and could  be extended if required.

This means you must stay at home. You should only go out for necessities, such as:

  • getting food, beverages or medication
  • going to medical appointments
  • supporting vulnerable community members
  • child care
  • attending school or a post-secondary institution
  • going to a bank
  • accessing government services
  • getting exercise or walking pets
  • going to work, if you can’t do it remotely

Businesses must ensure that all employees work from home if they can.  Do not travel outside your region or the province unless absolutely necessary.

Additional detailed information related to this “Second Declaration of Emergency” can be found on the Province of Ontario website.

Note that individuals and/or businesses who do not follow the orders can be fined. Maximum fines can be up to $100,000 for individuals and $10 million for a corporation. Failure to follow the rules could also result in prosecution or even a year in jail.


January 8, 2021

On Thursday, January 7, 2021, the Ontario government extended the shutdown in Northern Ontario for another 14 days to Saturday, January 23, 2021, aligning with the shutdown period in Southern Ontario. For additional information, please refer to the CBC News article of January 7, 2021.


December 22, 2020

Following is the Hearst-Moosonee Diocese Inter-Par of December 27th. This is an important message from Mgr Prendergast, S. J., Diocesan Apostolic Administrator, regarding provincial measures and our own personal arrangements at this time of isolation.

Inter-Par – December 27, 2020


December 21, 2020

Today Premier Doug Ford announced that all of Ontario will move into a lockdown on Boxing Day in a bid to curb climbing COVID-19 case numbers and spare hospitals and their intensive care units from being inundated in January.

The lockdown will begin at 12:01 a.m. on Dec. 26 and remain in place until at least Jan. 23, 2021 in the 27 public health units that comprise southern Ontario, the government says.

In Ontario’s north, where daily case numbers have been significantly lower, the lockdown is set to expire on Jan. 9, 2021.

Please refer to the following CBC News article for more detailed information:

  Premier Doug Ford orders lockdown


July 16, 2020

Effective Thursday, July 23, 2020, in all communities in the Porcupine Health Unit area, it will be mandatory to wear a face covering in public indoor spaces. Please keep in mind that the use of a face covering does not replace the need for other public health measures such as physical distancing, frequent hand hygiene and staying home if unwell.

Please see the following instructions from the Porcupine Health Unit.

Mask order July 2020

For more information,  please visit the link below or contact the health unit office.

https://www.porcupinehu.on.ca/en/your-health/infectious-diseases/novel-coronavirus/covid-masks/


June 18, 2020

Please note the following poster “Health and Safety Rules to Protect Against Covid-19 At The Entrance And In The Church”, as provided by the Catholic Church of Montreal . (Click on the poster to enlarge)

June 17, 2020

The following is further to the June 13, 2020 news item regarding “Ontario eases restrictions on Wedding and Funeral Ceremonies”.

Refer to the attached French document from the Ministry of Health concerning the restrictions regarding marriages and funeral ceremonies. This document can be confusing, but the difference is between the words “Ceremonies and “Receptions.

For a wedding or funeral ceremony held indoors: a maximum of 30% of the capacity of your church.

For a wedding ceremony or funeral held outside: a maximum of 50 people.

For all wedding or funeral receptions held outside or inside the number is 10 people.

Restrictions for wedding and funeral ceremonies and receptions_June 13, 2020 (French)


June 13, 2020

Ontario Eases Restrictions on Wedding and Funeral Ceremonies!

Refer to the original “News Ontario” bulletin and additional information regarding Stage 2 Reopening in Ontario, on the following link:

June 13, 2020 – Restrictions Eased on Wedding and Funeral Ceremonies

The Ontario government is providing more flexibility on the number of attendees permitted at indoor and outdoor wedding and funeral ceremonies, in recognition of the importance of being with loved ones during the moments that matter most.

Based on positive public health trends the government is extending the number of people allowed to attend an indoor wedding or funeral ceremony to a maximum of 30 per cent capacity of the ceremony venue.

Wedding and funeral ceremonies taking place outdoors will be limited to 50 attendees. For both indoor and outdoor ceremonies, those attending must follow proper health and safety advice, including practising physical distancing from people who are not from the same household or their established 10-person social circle.

“With recent progress to reduce the spread of COVID-19, we are able to ease restrictions on these special ceremonies,” said Christine Elliott, Deputy Premier and Minister of Health. “We have taken deliberate steps to increase testing and increase our ability to track and contain this virus. As we loosen these measures, I strongly urge everyone to remain careful and cautious as we are all still at risk.”

The changes came into effect on Friday, June 12 at 12:01 a.m. The maximum number of people allowed to attend indoor or outdoor wedding and funeral receptions remains at 10 people. As the COVID-19 outbreak evolves in Ontario, further direction will be provided on capacity restrictions for weddings and funerals going forward.


June 9, 2020

We have good news to share today!!

The Ontario government announced a regional approach to Stage 2 of Phase 2 of reopening the province amid the coronavirus pandemic on Monday.

As of Friday at 12:01 a.m., Ontario residents will be allowed to gather in groups of 10 — up from the previous five. Also places of worship will be allowed to reopen, however with physical distancing measures in place and allowing no more than 30 per cent capacity.

Certain public health units will also see the reopening of services such as hairdressers and barbers, restaurant patios and more outdoor spaces.

More detailed information concerning “church operations during pandemic emergency situations” is available on 

Approved Copy – ACBO Worshipsafe Guidelines

Please refer to the link below for the Workplace Safety & Prevention Services’ resource entitled Guidance on Health and Safety for Places of Worship During COVID-19.

Guidance on Health and Safety for Places of Worship During COVID-19

This document includes resource links, tips and best practices to help employers and workers prevent the spread of COVID-19 and work together to reopen the province.

Please note that much of what is covered in this resource is also in the Worshipsafe manual.


May 27, 2020:

As you already know from the news Wednesday May 27th, the Government of Ontario has extended the emergency measures until June 9, which means that churches are not about to reopen. We will advise further once we hear otherwise.

The State of Emergency declared by the Government of Ontario forbidding the gathering of more than 5 people  invites us to do our part to fight the spread of the Covid-19 virus. 

All masses remain cancelled until we receive clearance from the Government of Ontario. 


 

March 19, 2020:

As you know, everything is changing rapidly and new clearer directives from the Porcupine Health Unit have been issued on March 17, 2020 concerning churches. Our diocese is therefore following these new directives concerning Masses and all gatherings.  As of today’s date ALL MASSES and CHURCH ACTIVITIES HAVE BEEN CANCELLED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE. 

For your information, please review the following most recent directives/communique of March 17, 2020 from the Porcupine Health Unit :

Porcupine Health Unit Covid-19 March 17, 2020 Update


 

  • March 17, 2020 Bishop R. Bourgon  Communique – Directive for Preventive Measures To Stem the Spread of the Covid -19 Virus
  • March 13, 2020 – CCCB (Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops) statement on Coronavirus (COVID-19)  A unique and special time for prayer, hope and careTogether with all Canadians, the Catholic Bishops of Canada are following with deep concern the current developments in Canada and throughout the world regarding the rapid global spread of Coronavirus (COVID-19) which can in certain cases be the cause of serious illness and even death.The pandemic is now also spreading across Canada. This new virus is understandably a source of anxiety and fear for many. Practical information on responding to the virus and mitigating its spread is available from local public health officials, as well as from the federal and provincial governments, and should be heeded. Catholic faithful are invited to consult their local diocesan/eparchial websites for the preventive measures to be followed for pastoral care and liturgies. Concern for each person and the common good must always be paramount.As Catholics, we see in every illness a reminder of our own mortality, as well as an invitation to share in Christ’s ministry of healing. In the face of suffering and sickness, Christians are to be credible witnesses to the Lord’s enduring love, providence and power in our midst. His mercy and care are always present and available.We will soon be celebrating Easter – Christ’s triumph over death as the Lord of life and the source of ever-lasting hope. The spread of the COVID-19 virus is a moment for Catholics to offer special prayers of intercession for the healing of those infected, for the protection of the elderly and infirm who are at greatest risk, for the prevention of the disease’s spread, and for the courage and strength of care providers who minister to the sick, their families and those most in need.In keeping with Our Lord’s teaching, and as part of the sacred tradition for Lent, it is appropriate whenever possible that our prayer be strengthened by fasting, by other expressions of Christian charity or works of spiritual and corporal mercy.We entrust our country and especially those affected, as well as their loved ones and caretakers, to the powerful and maternal intercession of the Virgin Mary, Mother of Christ and ours.
Check out the latest information

on the Corona virus

When it comes to health, everyone wants reliable, up-to-date information.

Check out the latest news from

www.canada.ca

for answers to any questions you may have about the COVID-19 virus.

 

Language: